Sun. Jun 23rd, 2024

SRH lost the battle to KKR in IPL Final 2024


The IPL Final 2024 season has come to a spectacular end with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) emerging victorious against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in a thrilling final. This win marks KKR’s third IPL title, a testament to their consistent performance and strategic brilliance throughout the season.

The Grand Finale: KKR vs SRH

The final match was a showcase of intense cricketing action. SRH, batting first, struggled to put up a significant total, managing only 113 runs. KKR, in reply, chased down the target with ease, losing just two wickets in the process and achieving the target in just 10.3 overs. Key moments included Mitchell Starc’s exceptional bowling and Venkatesh Iyer’s aggressive batting.

KKR’s Road to Victory

KKR’s journey to the final was marked by strategic gameplay and standout performances. Throughout the tournament, players like Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, and Mitchell Starc consistently delivered, ensuring KKR’s dominance. Their ability to perform under pressure was a crucial factor in their success.

SRH’s Performance in the Final

SRH’s performance in the final was below expectations. Their batting lineup faltered against KKR’s disciplined bowling attack, leading to a modest total of 113 runs. Despite their bowlers’ efforts, SRH couldn’t prevent KKR from clinching the title. Key players for SRH included Abhishek Sharma and Harshal Patel, who had been instrumental in their journey to the final.

Award Winners List

The IPL 2024 awards recognized outstanding performances across various categories. These awards are significant as they highlight individual brilliance and contributions to the team’s success.

Champion: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

KKR, the champions of IPL 2024, received a prize money of ₹20 crores. Their victory was a result of collective team effort and individual brilliance. Key players like Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, and Mitchell Starc played pivotal roles in securing the title.

Runner-Up: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

As the runner-up, SRH was awarded ₹12.5 crores. Despite their loss in the final, SRH’s journey was commendable, with significant contributions from players like Harshal Patel and Abhishek Sharma.

Top Individual Awards

  • Purple Cap: Harshal Patel Harshal Patel from Punjab Kings was awarded the Purple Cap for taking 24 wickets in 14 matches. His consistent performance was crucial in several matches.
  • Orange Cap: Virat Kohli Virat Kohli, representing Royal Challengers Bangalore, won the Orange Cap by scoring 741 runs in 15 matches. His batting prowess was a highlight of the season.
  • Most Valuable Player: Sunil Narine Sunil Narine was named the Most Valuable Player for his all-round performance, scoring 488 runs and taking 17 wickets in the season.

Match Specific Awards

  • Striker of the Match: Venkatesh Iyer Venkatesh Iyer was awarded the Striker of the Match for his explosive batting in the final.
  • Player of the Match: Mitchell Starc Mitchell Starc’s exceptional bowling earned him the Player of the Match award in the final.

Season Long Achievements

  • Emerging Player: Nitish Reddy Nitish Reddy’s impressive performances throughout the season earned him the Emerging Player award.
  • Striker of the Season: Fraser McGurk Fraser McGurk’s consistent striking ability was recognized with the Striker of the Season award.
  • Fantasy Player of the Season: Sunil Narine Sunil Narine’s all-round contributions made him the Fantasy Player of the Season.

Special Awards

  • Best Catch: Ramandeep Singh Ramandeep Singh from KKR received the Best Catch award for his remarkable fielding effort.
  • Fair Play Award: Sunrisers Hyderabad Sunrisers Hyderabad was honored with the Fair Play Award for maintaining high standards of sportsmanship throughout the season.

Detailed Performance Analysis

The season saw some extraordinary individual performances in both batting and bowling. From Virat Kohli’s prolific run-scoring to Harshal Patel’s wicket-taking spree, the players showcased their skills and entertained the fans with high-quality cricket.

KKR’s Historic Wins

KKR’s victory in IPL 2024 adds to their previous triumphs in 2012 and 2014. This win further cements their legacy in IPL history as one of the most successful franchises. The team’s ability to perform consistently at the highest level has been remarkable.

Fan Reactions and Celebrations

The victory sparked massive celebrations among KKR fans. Social media was abuzz with congratulatory messages, and the streets of Kolkata were filled with joyous fans celebrating their team’s success.


The IPL 2024 season was a rollercoaster of emotions, thrilling matches, and outstanding performances. KKR’s victory was a result of strategic brilliance and teamwork. As we look forward to IPL 2025, the memories of this season will remain etched in the hearts of cricket fans.


  1. What were the key factors in KKR’s victory?
    • KKR’s strategic gameplay, consistent performances from key players, and their ability to perform under pressure were crucial in their victory.
  2. Who won the Purple Cap in IPL 2024?
    • Harshal Patel from Punjab Kings won the Purple Cap for taking 24 wickets in 14 matches.
  3. How did Sunil Narine perform this season?
    • Sunil Narine had an outstanding season, scoring 488 runs and taking 17 wickets, earning him the Most Valuable Player and Fantasy Player of the Season awards.
  4. What was the prize money for the winner?
    • The winner, Kolkata Knight Riders, received ₹20 crores.
  5. Who was the runner-up in IPL 2024?
    • Sunrisers Hyderabad was the runner-up, receiving ₹12.5 crores for their performance.

Related Post

One thought on “SRH lost the battle to KKR in IPL Final 2024”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *